Skip to content

Your Personal Facebook Brand

May 1, 2010

As I continue to develop my company brand, and the brand of the museum I work for… I’ve also been doing a bit of thinking about my personal brand. Social media is becoming more and more a part of our daily lives. For many of us Facebook is something we check as routinely as we check voicemail and email; for me, it’s even more so.

In this post, I’m going to talk a little bit about how to protect your personal brand when Facebooking for your company and tips on successfully maintaining your personal page and your company page.

When it comes to running a page for your organization, make sure to create a plan before beginning. Think about what you’d like to get out of it and how often you’ll post. Think about how posting for your organization will affect your personal profile. When I began posting for the museum I work for, I realized that I would be creating a lot of events for the organization. We hold quite a few events throughout the year and that affects my personal profile and my friends.

NOW – Facebook for whatever reason does not allow the administrator of a Facebook page to invite the members of said page to an event. This is something that frustrates me quite a bit as I, as I’m sure you all have as well, worked very hard to grow the following on the page, and to not be able to invite them to the organization’s events is well, really annoying. (I’ve sent quite a few suggestions to Facebook about this, if you’d like to send one as well, do that here.)

This is important to me because I don’t want to ruin my personal brand by constantly inviting my friends to come to museum events. It’s not that I don’t think they are worthy events that my friends may actually want to come to, but it’s gets a bit old when one friend invites you to events ALL THE TIME. So I’ve stopped doing that.

If you’ve found this to be a problem as well, here is what I suggest, and if you haven’t set up the page yet for your organization read this before doing it. Create a “fake person” on Facebook. I know Facebook doesn’t like when people do this, but as long as you don’t flaunt it they will likely leave you alone. Take note: if you create a fake person and Facebook catches you they WILL disable the account. This will do two things for you; 1) you can make it clear on that person’s profile that they are “representing” your organization and those who become friends will be getting updates and event invites for the organization’s events; and 2) this gives you a person to create the page under and to be the administrator.

YOU DO NOT WANT TO CREATE A PAGE FOR YOUR ORGANIZATION UNDER YOUR PERSONAL PROFILE. If you create the page from your personal profile for your museum, non-profit, business, you will be stuck with the administrative rights for the rest of your Facebook career. So unless you plan to work there for the rest of your life, don’t do it. Even if you do plan to stay there forever, still don’t do it. The creator of the page can never lose their administrative rights to the page. I’ve complained about this as well to Facebook, please feel free to use the above link to complain as well. With groups (which are fairly useless for an organization looking to expand their brand on Facebook) the creator of the group could hand off rights to someone else. This is not so with pages. So have your fake person create the page and give your personal page admin rights so IF Facebook disables your fake person then you can still manage the page. Then, if someday you no longer work at that business/organization you can hand off the page to someone else cleanly.

Take my advice and save your personal brand. Many people don’t stop to think about it because Facebook is a social place, but you never know what people will be looking for. Also, when thinking about your personal brand, especially if you’re looking for a job or want to look professional… don’t have Farm Ville take up your entire profile. Not impressed. But I’ll save that for another post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

